Samuel Edwards, Senior Honors Recital French horn, piano, and composition Open Access

Edwards, Samuel (Spring 2020)

Permanent URL:


This recital is a creative project exploring the roles of the composer and performer in creating an emotional, musical, human experience through the blending of French horn performance and programmatic composition. When the composer takes part in both the creation and presentation of music, he or she builds a stronger connection with the audience. The diversity of the styles and genres present is also enhanced, creating a new and exciting atmosphere of ever-changing material. Ultimately, the concert becomes an emotional learning experience that relies equally on the composer, performer, and listener to create trust and impart musical wisdom.

Table of Contents

Horn Concerto No. 1 in E-flat Major


Richard Strauss (1864–1949)

Conversations of the Soul for string quartet (2018)

Samuel Edwards (b. 1997)

Hyerin Yoon, violin; Lesley Mun, violin; Emma DeJarnette, viola; Sean Parker, cello

Parable VIII for solo horn

Vincent Persichetti (1915–1987)

Evolutions for piano (2019)

—Brief Intermission—

Divertimento for horn and piano 

Introduzione-Aria di cantabile-Canzonetta

Jean Francaix (1912–1997)

Never Forgotten for virtual instruments and electronic effects (2019)

Samuel Edwards

The Last of His Kind for brass quintet (2019) 

Allegro–Survival, Loss

Adagio–Realization, Acceptance

Allegro–Maestoso–Change, New Beginnings

Samuel Edwards

Jacob Germany, trumpet; Tony Kasper, trumpet;

Samuel Edwards, horn; Gabe Hart, euphonium; Sean Delaney, tuba

About this Honors Thesis

Rights statement
  • Permission granted by the author to include this thesis or dissertation in this repository. All rights reserved by the author. Please contact the author for information regarding the reproduction and use of this thesis or dissertation.
  • English
Research Field
Committee Chair / Thesis Advisor
Committee Members
Last modified

Primary PDF

Supplemental Files